Skip to main content

Welcome from the Dean

Pedro Mago

Welcome to the Benjamin M. Statler College of Engineering and Mineral Resources!

Welcome to the Statler College of Engineering and Mineral Resources at West Virginia University! It’s my pleasure to welcome you to our website and invite you to explore the programs, research, people, and all the opportunities available here in the Statler College.

The Statler College is a student-focused, land grant research university with a long tradition of producing high-quality graduates in a variety of disciplines as well as research and innovation that have impacted the world. The Statler College is on the rise, with a growing student population, nationally and internationally competitive research programs, and faculty and researchers that are well-known experts in their respective fields.

The Statler College of Engineering and Mineral Resources is comprised of seven academic departments: Chemical and Biomedical Engineering, the Wadsworth Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Industrial and Management Systems Engineering, the Lane Department of Computer Science and Electrical Engineering, Mechanical, Materials and Aerospace Engineering, Mining Engineering, and Petroleum and Natural Gas Engineering. In addition, it houses the WVU Mining and Industrial Extension. We offer 15 undergraduate degree programs, seven undergraduate dual degree programs, and 28 graduate programs. We are honored to educate students from across our nation and around the world.

The success of our students is our number one priority. We provide an outstanding high-quality, hands-on, real-world education for our students and many experiential learning opportunities and resources to support them during their college journey. We have an exceptional Advising Center that serves all engineering and computer science students in the College. We have award-winning student competition groups that travel cross country to compete, undergraduate research opportunities with nationally recognized researchers, study abroad opportunities that span across the globe and student organizations that provide both hands-on experience in your field and engineering community service opportunities, locally and abroad.

The college houses the Lane Innovation Hub, a state-of-the-art facility that enables our students, faculty and staff to take their dreams from design to creation. As an R1 research institution, we provide multiple opportunities for graduate and undergraduate students to participate in world-class research with our outstanding faculty and researchers. Our students are in high demand in the workforce and are highly sought after by employers at the University Career Fair. On average, over 200 companies and government agencies come to campus to recruit our students for internships, co-ops, or full-time jobs.

This is an exciting time to be part of the Statler College. Whether you are a prospective student, a parent, an alum of the College, or an industry representative interested in collaborating with us, I encourage you to learn more about the great programs and opportunities we offer at the Statler College. I also invite you to connect with us through Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and LinkedIn to share all the exciting things happening in the College and discuss how you can be part of the Mountaineer family.

Let’s Go!

Pedro J. Mago
Glen H. Hiner Dean
Benjamin M. Statler College of Engineering and Mineral Resources

Vicky Rousseau
Office Administrator