Skip to main content

Prior Deans

Each dean in our history had a major impact on the future of the Statler College. These innovative leaders provided the foundation for success that remains intact today.   

Deans of the College of Engineering, West Virginia University

  • 1895-1899: William S. Aldrich (He was not an officially appointed dean, but he served in that capacity. He left the position in 1897 due to the Spanish-American War and returned in 1898.)
  • 1900-1910: No official dean
  • 1911-1932: Clement R. Jones
  • 1932-1944: Roland P. Davis
  • 1944: Willard W. Hodge
  • 1945-1955: Roland P. Davis
  • 1955-1975: Chester A. Arents
  • 1975-1979: Bill L. Atchley
  • 1980-1991: Curtis J. Tompkins
  • 1992-1995: Robert M. Desmond
  • 1995-2000: Allen C. Cogley
  • 2000-2019: Eugene V. Cilento
  • 2019-2020: Earl Scime, Interim

Directors/Deans of the School of Mines/College of Mineral and Energy Resources (COMER), West Virginia University

  • 1930-1939: Charles E. Lawall, director, School of Mines (School of Mines splits from the College of Engineering in 1930)
  • 1939-1948: Dennis Lee McElroy, director, School of Mines
  • 1948-1961: G. Ralph Spinder, director/dean, School of Mines
  • 1961-1970: Charles T. Holland, director/dean, School of Mines
  • 1970-1978: Jay H. Kelley, dean (In 1975, School of Mines changes its name to COMER)
  • 1978-1981: Joseph W. Leonard, dean of COMER
  • 1981-1984: George Fumich, dean of COMER
  • 1984-1991: John Schroder, dean of COMER
  • 1991-1995: Larry Grayson, dean of COMER