Skip to main content

Filben, Gilpin honored with Order of Augusta

Photos of Tanner Filben and Anna Gilpin

Tanner Filben and Anna Gilpin are two of eight students awarded Order of Augusta for 2018.


Biomedical engineering majors Tanner Filben and Anna Gilpin have been awarded Order of Augusta, WVU’s most prestigious student honor.

“When we recognize some of our soon-to-be graduates with the Outstanding Senior award and the Order of Augusta, we celebrate their extraordinary achievements so far,” said Provost Joyce McConnell. “But perhaps even more exciting, we anticipate their future achievements, knowing they will make our world a better place, today and tomorrow.”

Tanner Filben, from Glen Dale, will graduate with a degree in biomedical engineering and a minor in computer science. He is the assistant executive director of the Mountaineer Maniacs, a member of the Biomedical Engineering Society, and a former intern to the director for athletics of the Student Government Association. Read more about Filben .

Anna Gilpin, from Martinsburg, will graduate with a degree in biomedical engineering and a minor in statistics. She is the vice president of the Biomedical Engineering Society, member of the Society of Women Engineers, associate editor for the Mountaineer Undergraduate Research Review, and former executive director for recruitment and retention for the Student Government Association.
Read more about Gilpin .

Established in 1995 to signify the 40th anniversary of the WVU Foundation, the Outstanding Seniors award recognizes students for their contributions and achievements in scholarship, leadership and service. 

The Order of Augusta further recognizes the students’ superior scholarship, demonstrated leadership and record of community and public service. The award is named for its historical significance in the state. Augusta was among the original names considered by the Legislature when the state seceded from Virginia in 1863.

Outstanding Seniors from the Statler College are:

Megan Barthelmess; Hurricane (Honors College)

Cassidy Bland; Wellsburg (Honors College)

Alyssa Diehl; Chardon, Ohio

Lindsay Elliot; Moseley, Virginia (Honors College)

Yacine Feliachi; Morgantown (Honors College)

Ahmed Haque; Bridgeport (Honors College)

Nicole Hegele; Odd (Honors College)

Jason Horvath; North Royalton, Ohio (Honors College)

Morgan King; Charleston (Honors College)

These students, who are among 41 students named WVU Foundation’s Outstanding Seniors, will be honored at a ceremony on Thursday, May 10, at 10 a.m., at the Erickson Alumni Center.



For more information on news and events in the West Virginia University Benjamin M. Statler College of Engineering and Mineral Resources, contact our Marketing and Communications office:

Phone: 304-293-4135