Skip to main content

Teaching, advising and research awards announced

A photo of award winners Morris, Poland, Jutla, Gall, and Papanikolaou. Honors Day Congratulations!

Faculty were recognized for teaching, research and advising at the College's annual Honors Day ceremony.


Gene Cilento , Glen H. Hiner Dean of the Statler College of Engineering and Mineral Resources at West Virginia University, announced the winners of the College's outstanding teaching, advising and researcher awards for 2017-2018. The awards were handed out at the College's annual Honors Ceremony, which took place on April 6.

Peter Gall, teaching assistant professor in the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, was named the College’s Teacher of the Year. Also recognized for outstanding teaching were Powsiri Klinkhachorn from the Lane Department of Computer Science and Electrical Engineering, and Edward Sabolsky and Mario Perhinschi from mechanical and aerospace engineering.

Melissa Morris, teaching associate professor, and Michelle Poland, academic success program coordinator and academic advisor, in the Fundamentals of Engineering Program were named the College’s Advisors of the Year. Dave Solley and Hailin Li from mechanical and aerospace engineering and Robin Hissam from the Department of Chemical and Biomedical Engineering were also recognized for their outstanding advising.

Antar Jutla, assistant professor of civil and environmental engineering, was named Researcher of the Year/Senior. Brijes Mishra from mining engineering, Yu Gu from mechanical and aerospace engineering and Guodong Guo and Donald Adjeroh from the Lane Department were also recognized.

Stefanos Papanikolaou, assistant professor of mechanical and aerospace engineering, was named Researcher of the Year/Junior.



For more information on news and events in the West Virginia University Benjamin M. Statler College of Engineering and Mineral Resources:


Phone contacts:
College Relations office: 304-293-4086
Office of the Dean: 304-293-4157
Other College administrative and department offices: Administration